Attorney General Camacho joins 38 attorneys general in urging Congress to fund expanded access to broadband

May 26, 2020- Tamuning,Guam- Attorney General Leevin Taitano Camacho has joined 38 attorneys general in urging Congress to help ensure that consumers have the home internet connectivity necessary to participate in teleschooling, telework, and telemedicine as part of any additional legislation that provides relief and recovery resources related to addressing the COVID-19 pandemic. 

While Camacho and the attorneys general have lauded independent efforts of various companies to increase internet access by waiving late fees or even providing free or discounted access to students and medical providers, such efforts are not sustainable. Ultimately, the attorneys general argue, there needs to be a national solution.

Unless Congress acts quickly, disparities in access to internet connectivity will exacerbate existing gaps in educational and health outcomes along lines of economic resources. 

In a letter sent to Congressional leaders, the attorneys general urge Congress to:

  • Provide state, territorial, and local governments with adequate funding expressly dedicated to ensuring that all students and patients, especially senior citizens who are at risk, have adequate internet-enabled technology to participate equally in online learning and telemedicine.
  • Increase funding to the U.S. Federal Communication Commission Universal Service Fund, which provides vital funding to rural and low-income populations, healthcare providers, and educators with the goal of bridging the digital divide.

With public health experts warning that a second wave of coronavirus infections may require teleschooling and telemedicine to continue for millions of Americans throughout 2020, the attorneys general argue it is critical that Congress act now to help ensure that all Americans have the home internet connectivity they need to access educational opportunities, healthcare, and to earn a livelihood.

The coalition of states and territories include: Colorado, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Alaska, American Samoa, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Guam Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.